Friday, August 10, 2007

Creating Personalized Stationery



It's Summertime, when the livin' is easy..... Here's an easy way to create your own personalized stationery. The framework for it is already done on Word, all you have to do is find it!
  1. With the Word window open, go to the File menu and click on New. The New Document panel opens on the right side of the window.

  2. Templates is the second section down. Microsoft offers numerous templates on-line for creating all types of documents (certificates, gift certificates included). For simplicity, we'll just explore the stationery options already installed on your particular computer.

  3. Click the On my computer... option. The Templates window appears, with several tabs at the top. Take note of the two radio buttons on the lower right of the window. Here you choose whether you intend to create a document for immediate use or a template to be readily available in the future. Let's create a template.

  4. Click on the Letters & Mailings tab. Here you have the option of choosing either the Elegant Letter with your name across the top of the page or the more business-like Professional Letter. Make a selection.

  5. Your template opens. At this point, you fill in the required text, as directed by the template designer. With the Elegant Letter, you can type your name (or business name) at the top.

  6. You may also want to change the font color, size, or type. Select the text you want to modify, and from the Format menu, select Font. There you have additional formatting options like shadow or embossed style. (Note: In the Elegant Letter, the text at the top of the page is pre-formatted for capital letters. You can change this option in the Format menu/Change case/ select Title Case.)

  7. Then add your address, etc. at the bottom of the page, following the instructions.

  8. STOP at this time and Save it to create the template. You will see that it automatically will save as a template, to be buried in Microsoft's template file on your hard drive.

  9. Remember that to access your template in the future, click on New from the File menu and the New Document window will appear on the right. It will appear there.

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

Keeping Track of Favorites



Can't remember what site was most helpful in determining the size of the last quake, or where you found that great bargain? Save your special sites in the Favorites folder of Internet Explorer:
  1. First open the web site that you want to remember. Then click on the Favorites icon (yellow star) on the Toolbar. The Favorites panel will appear on the left of your window.

  2. Click Add at the top of the panel. The Add Favorite dialog box opens with the name of the website in its "name box."
  3. You can simply press OK and add it to your list of websites OR you can take one more step to place it in a folder.

  4. Clicking the Create in button opens a window that shows a list of existing folders. You can select any folder (by clicking on it), or create a NEW folder by pressing the New Folder button. Name the new folder.

  5. With the folder highlighted, click OK and the website will be stored inside it.